City of Desert Hot Springs

Press Release | RFPs | Job Opportunities

City Government

Desert Hot Springs was incorporated in 1963 and has a City Council-City Manager form of government. Its governing body, the Desert Hot Springs City Council, is comprised of five members including the mayor, all of whom are elected by city residents.

Council members serve four-year terms; the mayor serves a two-year term.

Municipal elections are consolidated with the general election and held every two years in November of the odd-numbered year. Council terms overlap, with two Council members and the mayor elected every two years. Each year, the Council member with the most seniority and who has had the most seniority since serving is appointed mayor pro tem. The City Council also serves as the Redevelopment Board.

Desert Hot Springs is among more than 300 cities in California operating under the Council-Manager form of government. The Council hires the city manager who is the chief administrative officer of the City, and hires the city attorney, who serves as the City’s primary legal adviser.

City Govt »