Desert Hot Springs News

Twenty-One Candidates Apply to Fill City Council Vacancy

Posted by City of Desert Hot Springs on Jun 24, 2019 6:28:38 PM


Council Member, Anayeli Zavala has advised that she will resign from the Desert Hot Springs City Council effective July 2, 2019. 


On May 21, 2019, the City Council considered the available options under State law for filling the vacancy. The City Council voted unanimously (with Council Member Zavala abstaining) to appoint a qualified individual to complete the term of office ending in December 2020.


The application period began on May 22, 2019. The following 21 candidates submitted an application by the filing deadline of 5:00 P.M. on June 24, 2019:


1)   Kent Andersen

2)   Sara Anderson
3)   Agustin Aragon
4)   Karl Baker, Jr.
5)   Catherine Barber
6)   Karina Barragan
7)   Richard Duffle
8)   Jim Fitzgerald
9)   Mirna Flores
10) Robert Griffith
11) Dawn Griffiths
12) Walt Meyer
13) Jason Moore
14) Patrick Morgan
15) Roger Nuñez
16) Michael Picardi
17) Donna Poyuzina
18) Adam Sanchez, Sr.
19) Deby Shoemaker
20) John Stuart
21) John Tinker


Candidate interviews will be conducted at a Special Meeting of the City Council on Tuesday, June 25, 2019 at 5:00 P.M. at the Council Chamber/Carl May Center located at 11711 West Drive.

Tags: government, resident, city news, city council