The Planning Commission consists of five (5) members, appointed by one member of the City Council, and ratified by a majority vote of the City Council. Members are appointed for two-year terms. Appointments are made at the second regular City Council meeting in January in even-numbered years. Vacancies are filled by appointment for the unexpired term of the member replaced. (Desert Hot Springs Municipal Code Chapter 2.24)


The City's success is linked to its ability to plan for the future. As such, the Planning Commission plays a vital role. The commissions responsibilities include:


- Ongoing evaluation of the City's building codes and ordinances;
- Continual update of the City's General Plan;
- General oversight of zoning review and variances.


Current Planning Commissioners:


 Commissioner  Position  Date Appointed  Term Expires  Appointed By
 Larry Buchanan  Chair  February 4, 2020  January 2022  Gary Gardner
 James Nindel  Vice-Chair  February 4, 2020  January 2022  Scott Matas
 Agustin Aragon  Commissioner  February 4, 2020  January 2022  Robert Griffith
 Richard Duffle  Commissioner  February 4, 2020  January 2022  Jan Pye
 Dawn Griffiths  Commissioner  February 4, 2020  January 2022  Russell Betts


Planning Commission Meetings:


Regularly scheduled meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at the Carl May Center, 11-711 West Drive in Desert Hot Springs. Please confirm specific meeting dates by checking the city calendar.



If you would like to be considered for an appointment to the Planning Commission, please submit a Commission Application.


Review Current Agendas

Review Special Meeting Agendas

Public Notices

Not seeing what you need?