The Public Safety Commission consists of five (5) members, appointed by one member of the City Council, and ratified by a majority vote of the City Council. Members are appointed for two-year terms. Appointments are made at the second regular City Council meeting in January following each regular election year (odd numbered years). Vacancies are filled by appointment for the unexpired term of the member replaced. (Desert Hot Springs Municipal Code Chapter 2.24)


Current Public Safety Commissioners:


 Commissioner  Position  Date Appointed  Term Expires  Appointed By
 Donna Lozano  Chair  January 16, 2018  January 2020  Scott Matas
 Ted Mayrhofen  Vice-Chair  January 16, 2018  January 2020  Russell Betts
 Lee Eastman  Commissioner  January 16, 2018  January 2020  Yvonne Parks
 Florence Martin  Commissioner  June 18, 2019  January 2020  Anayeli Zavala
 Walt Meyer  Commissioner  January 16, 2018  January 2020  Joe McKee


Staff Representative: Police Chief


Regular scheduled meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at the Carl May Center, 11-711 West Drive in Desert Hot Springs. Please confirm specific meeting dates by checking the city calendar.


Providing citizens with public safety is one of the most important services a city can offer. The Desert Hot Springs Police Department is charged with ensuring the city is safe, drug free, crime free and gang free. The Public Safety Commission is an ongoing public forum that ensures the public is involved in the process. Commission members serve as liaison between the community leaders, citizens and the Desert Hot Spring Police Department; and review budgets and proposal for greater efficiency and effectiveness in the area of public safety.


If you would like to be considered for an appointment to the PSC, please submit a Commission Application.


Review Agendas & Minutes


Not seeing what you need?